The working mommy’s dilemma

In my opinion I have one of the most family friendly jobs out there as far as lawyer jobs go. I have predictable hours. My boss is understanding about family commitments because he has them himself. He is out the door at 5 pm. He will unquestionably let me take time off when my little one is sick. I’m so grateful that I transitioned out of big law even though I didn’t realize it was the right move at the time.

But even so, I can’t help but feel as though I rarely get to see my little one except on weekends. I spend only a couple hours with her during the weekdays and at 7 months she is changing so quickly. I’m not thrilled about sending her to day care either.

I wish I could take a few years off and then go back, because I do enjoy my job. The problem is, in my field you can’t just take a few years off. There are just too many lawyers and not enough jobs. If I quit I may very well never work as a lawyer again.

Becoming a SAHM is something I never in a million years would have imagined doing, but having a baby changed me. I admire SAHM’s, especially those who gave up their careers to raise kids. Its scary to leave behind everything you have worked for. It’s a choice every mommy has to make for herself and there is no right answer. There are opportunity costs to the choices we make which are even more defined after having kids.

20131120-125714.jpg

Me, the day I was admitted to the Supreme Court of the US.

One thought on “The working mommy’s dilemma

Leave a Reply

